Where We’re At

Hello all. Its been a while. Well, not really. But it feels like it has. And I’ve miss you all so much. This is a post dedicated to the fans of What’s Left On The Floor. I’d like to let you all know where I’m at in my personal life and what I’ve got coming up on my plate. After all, no one is more important than my readers.

In case any of you didn’t know, school is about to start back up. I’m a first semester junior at Bowie State University located in Bowie, Maryland. Classes start again for me in about two weeks and I’ll be taking five classes this semester. Normally, I’ll be done with classes each day by about 3 o’clock so that will be my time to write. Within that time frame, though, I’ll also have my duties as a new RA at Bowie State.

Taking on a resident assistant position is a serious matter and I treat it as such. I started training last week and I haven’t been able to write as much since. I think within the past week, I’ve written two or three articles. None of which have been for WLOTF, which is to the detriment of my readers and my blog. So I do apologize for that. Lately, as you can see, there has been a lot of things on my plate. As a first time RA they put a lot of pressure on me to be where they want me to be and be on their time. I let that get to me and stress me out for the majority of the past week and that’s something that I really regret.

I’ve let things get in the way of my personal life and its distracted me from my writing. My organization has been at an all time low, I believe. And that has distracted me from catering to my blog’s many needs.

In August, I set a goal for myself to write a post every single day. At least one–figuring that it would cure me of my inconsistencies as a writer. However, once all of this other stuff came up my streak ended at two weeks. I was totally disappointed in myself and what I was doing as a writer. I even considered taking a break and shutting down WLOTF until I settled things within myself. Thankfully, I decided not to do that. I don’t know if I would have been able to keep up the blog once I tried to start back up. I love you all too much to ever do that to you.

Today, I finally purchased the domain name from wordpress and my blog is officially called whatsleftonthefloor.com. You don’t know how proud I am of that. I feel as though I’ve come a long way as a writer and I have started a new journey as an owner of my own website. Through this past week, I’ve learned a lot about myself. I’ve learned what I needed to do and what I’ve been doing that was wrong all of this time. I also have learned that I still have a lot to learn, so I need you all to bear with me as I become a better writer. I had a wake-up call when I received my latest payment from my normal job. Lets just say that a “real” job isn’t something that I aspire to do. This is what I want to do–write. Its my passion and my dream as a sports journalist. I know I have a long way to go, but getting there with you all will make my ride so much sweeter.

Given that I still have RA duty to go through for the next few months, I’ll have to work my writing schedule around that. If you ever catch me posting at awkward times, that’s just that. I have no choice but to do it and in the end it will benefit the site, so please bear with me.

Starting September first, I’ll be doing a preview of each NBA team in depth for the whole month along with contributing to the other sites that I work with.

Also, I will continue my work and contributions with the other various sites that I work for. That includes My Mind on Sports,Hardwood Houdini, and also the the Next Level Sports Network. I am still a member of the Sports Blog Movement and I love what I do. I’m not going to stop writing anytime soon.

You can catch me on My Mind on Sports radio on most Tuesdays from 7-8 P.M EST and Saturdays from 10 A.M to 12 Noon as well. We are also going to start having shows daily starting on September 5th so you’ll be able to find me on some of them from time to time as well.

I love all of the sites that I contribute to and I really hope to keep working and producing for them throughout this year and for more time to come.

I hope that I’ve cleared up any confusion as to why I haven’t been tending to the site as much as I should have been or should be, rather. Much love to everyone, thanks for reading. Its truly appreciated. I love you all and I wouldn’t be where I am today without any of you. I’ve stepped outside of my comfort zone for a while and I’m liking what I’m seeing. I’m growing as a person and I want you all to be on that journey with me. My career should be a long one, and definitely entertaining.

Here’s to a better future.

7 responses to “Where We’re At

  1. Handle your business in school first man. Writing will be there. If you need anything, just ask and I got you. Keep grinding and believing and striving to make your dreams become reality. And congrats on the domain purchasem

  2. A Great Future at that!! Congrats again on owning your site Mike, big step in building the most important brand..YOU. I look forward to your continued growth as a writer and I hope you reach all of your goals you have set before you, good luck sir and thank you for your contributions to My Mind on Sports! Much like your site (What’s Left on the Floor), you’ve definitely made your mark!

  3. Welcome back. Good luck with your RA duties at Bowie, and school comes first, we all understand that. That being said, I can relate, I considered shutting down The News of Sports frequently at times, then I realized that I was doing this for the love of sportswriting, and now I’m trying to post every day as well. Many congrats about the new URL change. It’s really exciting to see that your site has the same last part as ESPN and Google and all those big sites. It makes you feel like you’re part of something special. Here’s to more success to WLOTF, and keep writing, it’s something you do extremely well. Best wishes.

    -The News of Sports

Leave a Reply

