Floyd Mayweather, Racial Identification, and the people

Today’s post isn’t about hoops everyone. Its about way more than that tonight. Tonight I want to talk about not just sports, but race. We’re getting into cultural identification. That’s a sore subject in many people’s eyes but trust me, its okay to talk about these things.

I watched these videos on hoopspeak live the other day and it popped into my head while I was watching the coveted Mayweather vs Ortiz fight tonight.

This match didn’t last too long. 2:59 left in the fourth round of the fight, its over. Floyd wins, Ortiz is knocked out. Not conventionally though. Floyd was in control of the fight landing 42% of his punches throughout the few rounds to Ortiz’s 19 I believe. I’m not sure, double check it. There was a flurry of punches from Ortiz previously in the fight; some of them landed, some of them didn’t. There was also a headbutt thrown into the mix there. He got a point taken off of his scorecard for it.

After the headbutt Ortiz tried to apologize profusly to Floyd; to a fault you could say. The match was on schedule to proceed after a few more gestures of apology to Floyd from Ortiz, they slapped gloves, the ref turns away, and Ortiz looks confused. He didn’t know that the fight was started back up again. Floyd catches him off guard with two blows to his face and one near his neck. Ortiz is out for the count, Floyd takes his title and keeps his unbeaten record.

The thing is, people don’t know how to take this fight. Some say that Ortiz shouldn’t have headbutted him, but my argument to that would be since when do 2 wrongs make a right? Aren’t you supposed to play with honor if you are a champion? Why stoop down to the level of those who are lower than you? Have you lossed your sense of integrity just for a win?

Whenever opportunity calls, I guess you have to jump on it and take the win. But I feel that it could’ve been done in more of an integral way. Not only for Floyd but for Ortiz also. The way that Floyd carried himself during the match was just embarassing to me as an African American male and as a sports fan in general. In all fairness, Floyd is not the only one who would take such action to win a game. It just seems to me that he’s the only one who is defended for it.

Now to get into the main thing I want to talk about. Its the people who are defending what Mayweather did. They’re saying “you must protect yourself at all times” and this is true, but is there no such thing as honor? Is there no such thing as a cheap shot? People in the African American community were quick to jump to his defense. I was even arguing in my basement about what had went down and no one would listen to the point that I was trying to make.

That point was that 2 wrongs do not make a right, there should be no such thing as getting even. If you want to win you should win fairly. All I heard was “but he gave him a headbutt, he gave him a headbutt.” That was in the midst of a flurry of punches given by Ortiz. That could have been a heat of the moment thing, and I can understand that. A headbutt is a headbutt, but it isn’t a shot while someone isn’t looking. That’s why people invented the term “sneak” isn’t it?

Most of the people who defend what Mayweather does, on and off the ring, are black people. When you look at Mayweathers closest competition, they’re mainly hispanic in heritage. None of them are black and they’re all lighter people. African American people come to Floyd’s defense more often than not because of him being an African American also. No matter whether he is right or wrong, his is still one of “us”. I’m not saying that it is right or wrong to feel that way, because its all up to the person. I’m just saying that’s the way it is. I don’t condone Mayweather or anything he does. In all honesty I lost every shred of respect I had left for him tonight, but you know what, that doesn’t matter to some people of my culture.

Because of culture identification they’ll always be to his defense because Caucasian Americans never will be. There’s always going to be that feeling of the “man” holding us as a people down. People aren’t wrong for feeling that way, because you should always know where you come from and defend your culture, but I don’t think that means that we can’t talk about it.

Think about this. Floyd Mayweather is one of the most cocky, arrogant athletes that this world has ever seen. We’ve seen that he’ll do anything to win a game, and we’ve seen he’ll knock down any man, woman, or child in his way of doing it; however, we laud him for it. On the other end of the spectrum, we see Kobe Bryant who is probably very similar to Floyd in his arrogance and winning desire. A lot of African American people can’t stand him. That’s because his competition is much different than Floyd’s. Ther are more African American ball players and they feel that they can root for the underdog because he isn’t always a white man. That’s not wrong, that’s just the way it is. It isn’t racism, its cultural identification. There’s nothing wrong with wanting something positive to happen for your race. I just don’t believe that it should be done in a negative way. That’s what I see in Floyd and that’s why I don’t like him. It isn’t because I want him to fail, its because I want him to represent in a way that shows integrity and honorability. I want him to be a champion’s champion. Not a scrub who will run anyone over in his way to win.

We see this all over sports, and all over the world with all races. As you saw in the video, Peyton Hillis is a white running back in the NFL which is a rarity of sorts. White people were probably rooting for him to get that honor, not because they hate blacks, but because they want their race to succeed. There isn’t anything wrong with that.

At the end of the day, I don’t think that its wrong to want your race to succeed. As a matter of fact you should because it works out in the greater good for you. But just because you want your race to succeed doesn’t mean that you have to hate any other race. There is nothing that says that. Racism isn’t always hand in hand with race. I’ve learned that over these years.

Of course, there is still an element of racism still present in the world. For instance, a girl just got stabbed to death at my school by her room mate. Her name was Domonique Frazier, bless her heart, I didn’t know her. It was a horrible incident for Bowie State University and it will probably leave a dark mark on HBCU’s for a long time. However, Maryland University’s crime rate is much much higher than Bowie’s. It is deemed as a safer place still and that’s because of the lack of African American students that they have. Sometimes there is a negative aura enveloped around my people that isn’t necessarily always true. As a matter of fact, a lot of times it isn’t true. But it may always be there because we don’t know any better as people yet.

We’ve seen it through the media that certain races do certain things. Blacks are always bad, Asians are always smart, Whites are always successful, Hispanics are always working. Those are stereotypes created by our ancestors from back in the 17th and 18th centuries and aren’t always true. That’s why people need to just carry themselves positively and be themselves at all times. Prove some of these negative stereotypes wrong, make the good ones true. That’s what we have to do.

I’m not sayin I’m better than any white man or asian man. I don’t see color when I see people, all I see is a person. Someone could be blue and it wouldn’t make me any difference. I still would give them any chance I would give a black man. It isn’t fair to just judge someone off of color alone. Racism is something that needs to be removed from the world because it seperates us as people. We need togetherness to make change in the world.

Now you can say “How’d he get all of this from one fight?” but you can’t say that I don’t have some valid points. And at the end of the day, I’m just working trying to inspire you to make the world a better place. How are you going to act?

One response to “Floyd Mayweather, Racial Identification, and the people

  1. Great insight. I’m not a big boxing fan, but I did see the highlights from this one, and I wouldn’t say Floyd’s punch was a sucker punch, I mean, after all, it is boxing, and there’s no hugging and saying “I’m Sorry” in a sport where you’re supposed to knock your opponent out. Of course the media is just making a big deal out of this, when it’s really no big deal at all.

Leave a Reply

