Washignton Wizards 2011-2012 Season Outlook

I was looking over Truthaboutit.net and on Hoops-Nation.com trying to find something to write about. It just hit me that the NBA is in an offseason and that could be extended because of this lockout. Its killing me but it won’t stop me from writing.

This is my first post since moving to wordpress.com so its only right that it’d be about the Wizards with me being a diehard wizards fan. I happen to think that this squad has a lot of potential. I got into an argument on it a few days ago. A good friend tried to tell me that the Timberwolves would be a 40 win team before the Wizards.

I think that the Wizards could be a 40 win team next season.

It all rests on the shoulders of point guard John Wall. He has to create for himself and for others, much like Derrick Rose has to do. No, I’m not saying he’s Rose and I’m not saying that the Wizards are the Bulls. Half of them don’t even pay enough attention on the defensive end to be in the same conversation as the Bulls, but that can be changed.

They are all coachable players in a good, clean, young locker room. John Wall is the leader of that team and he is a very coachable player. He won’t give problems to Flip Saunders and the rest of the locker room will follow that lead. I know John Wall is only 20 years old, but he instantly took over that locker room. Even with players like Rashard Lewis and Andray Blatche in there he took over.

He’s all about winning and he comes from a winning culture in Kentucky and that’s what he is showing our young team. We have to win. He also set a goal for himself to win the MVP by the 2013 season. That’s a big goal for a young player and I like that. It shows that he believes in himself and believes in the team. Flip Saunders believes in him, why shouldn’t the rest of the organization? He put up big numbers on a lackluster team when everyone was trying to defend him. He has respect of veterans around the league and will be a force in seasons to come.

We also have rookies coming in with potential also. There’s Jan Vesley, Chris Singleton, and even Shelvin Mack. They will come in and see how hard Wall is working and they’ll work that hard to. Chris Singleton has already been motivated by being the last player taken out of the green room. With his defensive presence it should bring a new defensive culture to the team.

Jan Vesley will provide us with a post presence that we need and some defensive ability also. His dunk also packs a pretty great punch. Shelvin can play some back up point to John Wall, every good team needs a good back up point right?

We were a team with a lot of back ups before, no starters. I think with the crop of player personas we have in the locker room we can develop some of these players into starters. The Wizards will finally be a team to be reckoned with in the NBA once again.

2 responses to “Washignton Wizards 2011-2012 Season Outlook

  1. I wonder who said the Wolves will get to 40 wins before the Wizards. I really think the Wiz have a better core right now than the Wolves. We still don’t know what Rubio is yet and the Wolves have a logjam at the forward position with no shooting guard. The Wizards have Jordan Crawford, a talented young SG, Wall and a guy with the potential to be a huge defensive force in McGhee, not to mention a good defensive draft w/ Singleton, Vesley and Mack. Should be the start of something in Washington. Give them another year to gel and I think they will be seeing the playoffs.

    • That was my exact argument. This isn’t the same 20 win Washington team of years past. I’m glad to see that someone agrees with me! Thanks Mike lol.

Leave a Reply

